Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Connecticut License Plates

Historic Pictures with Plates
Home
1905-1909
1910-1919
1920-1929
1930-1936
1937-1956
1957-1974
1975-1986
1987-1999
2000-2010
Bus
Camper
Combination
Commercial
Dealer -New
Dealer-Used
Early American
Error plates!
Farm
Fire Dept.
Ham Radio Plates
Handicapped
Historic Pictures with Plates
Livery
Merritt Parkway Toll
State/Municipal
Oddball Plates
Paint Test 1957
Political
Repair
Sample
Specialty Plates
State Statutes
Taxi
Temporary
Trailer
Transporter
Vanity Plates
Veteran/Military
Wrecker
Year - Date Decals
Year - Date Tabs
Contact Us
Links
Test

Pictures of plates on vintage cars.

img0003-3226.jpg

View Image: Photo of Ernest Post's tour car, Mystic.

Title: Ernest Post's tour car, Mystic.

192?

Description: Ernest Post's open tour car is parked beside a clapboarded house. The license plate reads "57-417". Three passengers are visible. A horseshoe and what appear to be two metal cans hang from branches on a tree to the left of the automobile. A river or other body of water is visible in the right background.

Ernest F. Post was the son of Franklin G.Post, founder of a boatyard in Mystic that operated from 1914-1959. When Ernest Post joined his father in the business it became Franklin G. Post & Son.

_______________________________________________________

img0013.jpg

Title: Automobile at gas pumps, Hartford, 1931.

Date: 1931

Description: Elderly man wearing a sweater and a bow tie putting gasoline into an automobile with a license plate that reads "11-976 / Conn. 1931." Signs on the gas pumps read "Stop Nok" "Pep Gasoline" "Amalie Pennsylvania Motor Oil." An overhead sign reads "Battery Service." A large industrial building is in the background.

William J. Johnson was the auto editor at the Hartford Times and lived in East Berlin.

___________________________________________________________

 

1909keneypark.jpg

img0022.jpg

View Image: Photo of Milk truck in ditch, Hartford vicinity, ca. 1916.

Title: Milk truck in ditch, Hartford vicinity.

Date: [ca. 1916]

Description: White truck, license no. 924 with left wheels in ditch at the side of a country road. Five milk cans line the side of the truck. The manufacturer's name appears on the front bumper.

William J. Johnson was the auto editor at the Hartford Times and lived in East Berlin.

img0033-3226.jpg

View Image: Photo of Franklin G. Post's four-door car.

Title: Franklin G. Post's four-door car, Mystic.

Date: [194-?]

Description: Left front view of an automobile identified as Franklin G. Post's four-door car, license LH-852. A number of other cars can be seen in what appears to be the Post boatyard and on the street in the background. A barge is partially visible on the far left. To the right is a sign with lettering that reads in part: "MARINE AGENCY/BOATS YACHTS/FOR SALE". Further to the right is what appears to be a gas pump with an oval sign reading "ESSO". Buildings can also be seen in the background.

Franklin G. Post was a boatbuilder who had shops at two locations in Mystic. From 1914-1923 his business was located in Fort Rachel, south of the site of the old D.O. Richmond yard on the Groton side of the river. From 1923-1959 the shop occupied the site of the former Pendleton Brothers yard on the Stonington side. When his son Ernest joined the business it became Franklin Post & Son.

Place Name: Mystic.

Pistol Point.

img0063.jpg

View Image: Photo of Automobile show, Hartford.

Title: Automobile show, Hartford.

Date: [ca. 1906]

Description: Exhibition of automobiles in a large hall with a balcony. Some of the cars are decorated with small American flags and the hall is decorated with flags and draped with fabric. Signs read: "The Miner Garage" "Pierce Arrow" "The Thomas Flyers" "[Au]tocar." Inscribed on back:

"Property Fred Dart / Show in Travelers Hall / 1906."

The hall appears to identical with Foot Guard Hall where the auto show was held in 1907.

Fred W. Dart was proprietor of the Palace Auto Station at 548 New Britain Avenue.

Foot Guard Hall was located at 159 High Street.

 

img0098-1459.jpg

View Image: Photo of Work crew and REO truck.

Title: Work crew and REO truck.

Date: 1917.

Description: Five men standing around REO truck with "The Southern New England Telephone Co." painted on door. Connecticut license plate number 7097 (1917).

 

g2.jpg